SnapshotsSnapshots
 
Many islands
Authors: Louis Shurmer-Smith, Pascal Buléon

 

For a seafarer, islands are the sentinels announcing land ahead; this certainly applies to those of the Channel. Confronting the long, Atlantic swell pushed up by the westerly winds that now encounter their first obstacles, Ushant to the south and the Scilly isles to the north mark the entrance to a seaway used by thousands of ships destined for ports in northern Europe. Both the British and French remain profoundly attached to these islands and islets, suffused with their long histories.

What appears most striking when viewing the two coasts of the Channel in context, is the surprising abundance of Armorican islands compared to a relative paucity on the British side. This major physical feature, influenced by geological structure, must be set against the relative size of the islands on the British side, like the Isle of Wight, Jersey or Guernsey, forming small, fairly densely populated masses, whereas on the French side the sparsely inhabited equivalent look like a swirl of confetti, hugging the contours of the continental shoreline, from the Molene archipelago to the Seven Isles and the islands of Chaussey.

 

Enlarge

 

Whatever their size and population, the islands of the Channel have much in common. The first is related to tourism which remains the principal driver of an economy that is less and less dependant on traditional activities such as fishing and agriculture, both of which were important in the past but now have difficulty surviving. The second is the quality of their natural environment and landscapes, prompting multiple listings and statutory protections… but also exerting a strong attraction for tourists, whether they just come on day excursions, looking for a change of scene or for longer visits to experience the charms of island life.

All of the islands, those out to sea as well as those accessible at low tide across causeways, have become highly valued destinations over recent decades. Being a tourist paradise does, however, bring accompanying problems and occasional conflicts. One needs to consider the delicately balanced issues of water resources and waste management as well as the pressure of second homes on the rising price of land and housing, making them inaccessible to many young island couples.


top

PortraitsPortraits
 
Des îles en nombre
Auteurs : Pascal Buléon, Louis Shurmer-Smith

 

Pour le marin, les îles sont des vigies qui annoncent la terre. C'est précisément le cas de celles de la Manche. Face à la longue houle de l'Atlantique battue par les vents d'Ouest qui rencontrent leurs premiers obstacles, Ouessant au Sud et l'archipel des Scilly au Nord marquent la route maritime des milliers de bateaux à destination des ports de l'Europe du Nord. Britanniques et Français restent très fortement attachés à ces îles et îlots, chargés d'une longue histoire.

Ce qui frappe lorsque l'on met en perspective les deux rives de la Manche, c'est l'étonnant foisonnement des îles armoricaines, comparé à la relative rareté des îles Britanniques. Ce trait majeur, lié à la structure géologique, doit être mis en parallèle avec la taille des îles. Les îles britanniques forment de petits continents fortement peuplés, comme l'île de Wight ou Jersey et Guernesey, tandis que les îles françaises faiblement occupées s'apparentent davantage à une guirlande de confettis, épousant les contours de la ligne de rivage continentale, de l'archipel de Molène, aux Sept-Îles et aux îles Chausey.

 

Agrandir

 

Cependant, quelles que soient leur taille et leur population, les îles de la Manche possèdent de nombreux points communs. Le premier est lié au tourisme, moteur principal d'une économie de moins en moins dépendante des activités traditionnelles, comme la pêche et l'agriculture qui furent par le passé prépondérantes mais qui aujourd'hui se maintiennent difficilement. Le second, c'est la qualité de leur environnement naturel et de leurs paysages à l'origine de multiples classements et statuts de protections… mais aussi du formidable attrait qu'elles exercent sur les visiteurs aujourd'hui, qu'il s'agisse des excursionnistes d'un jour à la recherche de dépaysement ou des séjournants goûtant les charmes de l'insularité.

Toutes ces îles, celles du large comme celles accessibles à basse mer par les estrans, sont devenues en quelques décennies des destinations très prisées. Cette manne touristique engendre des problèmes, parfois des conflits. On pense à la délicate question de la ressource en eau, ou de la gestion des déchets mais surtout à la forte emprise des résidences secondaires à l'origine de l'emballement du prix du foncier bâti et non bâti, devenu inaccessible aux jeunes ménages insulaires. Vivre sur une île deviendrait-il un luxe ?


Haut