SnapshotsSnapshots
 
The portrait of Bournemouth (1999)
Authors: Mark Bobe, Louis Shurmer-Smith

 

Bournemouth, in the county of Dorset (although a unitary authority since 1997), is immediately adjacent to Poole on its Eastern edge. The growth of the borough, primarily attributable to tourism, may be traced back to the beginning of the 19th Century. Whilst the borough grew slowly during the first part of the century, the arrival of the railway in 1870, heralded a period of very rapid growth. With a mild climate, extensive beaches and an array of tourist and visitor facilities Bournemouth has become not only a popular holiday resort and retirement destination but also one of England's most popular conference and convention centres.

 

Enlarge

Bournemouth Town Hall, Graffity, 2005 - Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons

 

Economically the borough is still heavily reliant on tourism and the servicing of its large residential population, there has been considerable development of light industrial and service sector enterprises on the fringes of the borough. The University of Bournemouth is home to the National Centre for Computer Animation and the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Centre for Microelectronics in Business.

Bournemouth Borough Council administers an area of 46.51 square kilometres (Ordnance Survey 1992) containing a population of 161 500 people (Registrar Generals Home Population Estimates, Mid-1997). The population of the borough has grown by approximately five per cent since 1971 although there was a decline in population between the 1971 and 1981 Censuses of approximately six per cent (Censuses of Population 1971, 1981; Registrar Generals Home Population Estimates, Mid-1997).

The economy of Bournemouth is dominated by service sector employment, especially in distribution, hotels and restaurants which accounts for 29.3 per cent of total employment (Annual Employment Survey, 1995). Other significant sectors include public administration, education and health (23.4 per cent) and banking, finance and insurance (20 per cent). Overall the service sector accounts for 82.3 per cent of total employment in the borough, manufacturing and construction employs 16.7 per cent of the workforce and only one percent of all workers are employed in primary economic activities.

The local economy

Growth in the service sector has been concentrated in the tourist and financial services sub-sectors. Bournemouth is a major national conference centre and holiday resort and has recently benefited from the redevelopment of the town square and the addition of an IMAX cinema. Several companies have announced major expansion plans in the Bournemouth area including the Portman Building Society (financial services), Chase Manhattan Bank (financial services) and WamNet (computer software).

The expanding Bournemouth International Airport has also attracted a number of new companies and resulted in the expansion of existing ones. European Aviation, based at Bournemouth, continues to expand its aircraft leasing business and Bombardier Services has recently secured a 100 million contract to supply the Royal Air Force with training aircraft.

Economic growth in the area (measured as gross domestic product at factor cost) has, between 1993 and 1995, exceeded the average for the UK by approximately 3.3 per cent (Economic Trends) and is forecast to rise by approximately 3.2 per cent per annum between 1997 and 2000 (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). Forecasts for the UK indicate a growth rate of 2.4 per cent per annum indicating that the Bournemouth area enjoys a economic climate that performs better than the UK as a whole.

Business and commerce

In 1996 there were 6 680 enterprises operating within the Bournemouth Borough Council area (Annual Employment Survey, 1996) with 4 020 of them registered for Value Added Tax (VAT) purposes (at present only companies with a turnover in excess of 52 000 per annum must register for VAT). Whilst many of these enterprises are small or medium sized there are a number of larger companies located within the area, Abbey Life (financial services and insurance), Lloyds Bowmaker (financial services) and the Portman Building Society all have their national headquarters situated in Bournemouth. Other major employers include Zurich Municipal Insurance Ltd (insurance), Chase Manhattan Bank (financial services) and Liverpool Victoria Insurance (insurance).

Current levels of employment by economic sub-sector tend to mask the large scale growth of employment in the borough over recent years. By far the largest growth, especially in relation to growth in GDP has been in banking, finance and insurance although public administration, health and education have grown by 25.6 per cent since 1991 (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). Manufacturing, whilst of small importance to the local economy, has been increasing in importance with an 18 per cent rise in employment levels between 1991 and 1996 (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999).

Tourism

Tourism, day trips, vacations and conferences are vital to the towns economy (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999, 5). Bournemouth has the largest concentration of serviced (hotel and bed and breakfast) accommodation outside of London and attracts over two million staying visitors per year, a figure supplemented by 4.5 million day visitors per annum. Over 470 million per year (1995) is ploughed into the local economy each year, approximately 11 per cent of all direct tourist expenditure for the entire South of England is concentrated in Bournemouth (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999).

Bournemouth attracts a great deal of conference and convention business which contributes over 64 million to the towns economy each year (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). With a selection of venues the town is able to host conferences of up to 10 000 delegates and exhibitions of up to 5 000 square metres.

 

Enlarge

Bournemouth Panorama - Robert Pitman, 2012 – Licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0 via Flickr

Education

Over 70 million per annum is derived locally from the teaching of English as a foreign language, a figure only exceeded by London. More traditionally Bournemouth University has over 10 000 students supported by over 900 staff, contributing an estimated 50 million per annum to the local economy. Bournemouth and Poole College of Further Education has approximately 20 000 students enrolled on courses who are supported by 1 000 staff. Education is seen as important to local life and the local economy on the grounds that the cultural life of the borough is enhanced, the students provide a pool of qualified and skilled labour and contribute greatly to the local economy.

Retailing

Over 3 500 people are employed within the retail sector in the town centre alone. Bournemouth lays claim to be a regional shopping centre with a catchment area of approximately 750 000 people (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). The council continues to enhance the retail centre of the town with the recent completion of a 10 000 square metre retail complex and nearly 2 million invested in the renovation of the town centre.

Communications

Bournemouth is well served by transport links (as is the neighbouring Borough of Poole) of a higher standard than for the rest of the county of Dorset. The driving time from Bournemouth, via well maintained AA roads and motorways, to Portsmouth (the furthest East of the South Coast Metropole members) is 51 minutes, to Southampton is 35 minutes, to London 2 hours 12 minutes, to Bristol 1 hour 53 minutes and to Birmingham 3 hours and 4 minutes (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). Travel from Bournemouth to London (Waterloo) takes 1 hour 47 minutes and direct services are also available to Scotland, the North East of England and the Midlands.

The Borough of Bournemouth also enjoys easy access to port facilities in Poole for travel to and from France and the Channel Islands, to Southampton for travel to the Isle of Wight and to Portsmouth for travel to the Isle of Wight, the Channel Islands, France and Spain. Cargo facilities are also available in Poole for Bournemouth based enterprises engaged in import and export trades. Bournemouth International Airport continues to expand its operations with regular flights to and from Dublin, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Amsterdam. The airport is also increasing the number of charter flights to Spain and other destinations on mainland Europe.

The Labour Force

The overall population of Bournemouth (based on the Bournemouth Travel to Work Area) grew by 2.6 per cent between 1987 and 1997, it is predicted that the total population will have increased by approximately 4.0 per cent by 2011 (Bournemouth Borough Council, 1999). In terms of structure the proportion of elderly residents is forecast to drop from 27 per cent in 1991 to 23 per cent in 2011, by this year the proportion of residents in the 45 to 65 year old group is anticipated to rise to 23.2 per cent (Bournemouth Borough Council).


top

PortraitsPortraits
 
Le portrait de Bournemouth (1999)
Auteurs : Mark Bobe, Louis Shurmer-Smith
Traduction : Frédérique Turbout

 

Bournemouth dans le comté du Dorset (également une unitary authority depuis 1997) touche l'agglomération de Poole sur sa bordure orientale. La croissance de Bournemouth, principalement attribuable au tourisme, date du XIXe siècle. Tandis que la ville s'est développée lentement pendant la première partie du siècle, l'arrivée du chemin de fer en 1870 a annoncé une période de croissance très rapide. Avec un climat doux, de vastes plages et de nombreuses installations touristiques, Bournemouth est devenue non seulement un lieu de villégiature et de retraite réputé mais aussi un des centres de conférence et de congrès les plus connus de l'Angleterre.

 

Agrandir

Bournemouth Town Hall - Graffity, 2005 - Sous licence CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons

 

Économiquement, l'arrondissement est toujours très dépendant du tourisme et de la fourniture de services pour la vaste population résidentielle, ce qui a permis le développement de l'industrie et des services en bordure de la ville. L'université de Bournemouth abrite le Centre National d'Animation par ordinateur et le ministère du commerce et de l'industrie (DTI) avec le centre de micro-électronique. Le conseil de l'agglomération de Bournemouth administre une zone de 46,51 km2 pour une population de 161 500 habitants. Cette population s'est accrue d'environ 5 % depuis 1971, bien qu'il y ait eu un déclin de la population entre 1971 et 1981 de 6 %. L'économie de Bournemouth est dominé par le secteur des emplois de services, plus particulièrement dans la distribution, l'hôtellerie-restauration qui représente 29,3 % de l'emploi total. Les autres secteurs importants incluent l'administration publique, l'éducation et la santé (23,4 %), la banque, la finance et les assurances (20 %). Dans l'ensemble, le secteur des services représente 82,3 % de l'emploi total, l'industrie et la construction représentent 16,7 % et seulement 1 % concerne les emplois dans le secteur primaire.

Économie locale

La croissance des services s'est concentrée dans le tourisme et les services financiers. Bournemouth est un centre de conférence important et un centre touristique majeur qui a récemment bénéficié de l'implantation d'un complexe cinématographique. De nombreuses entreprises ont prévu des plans d'expansion, dont le Portman Building Society (services financiers), la Chase Manhattan Bank (services financiers) et Wam net (logiciels).

L'expansion de l'aéroport international de Bournemouth a attiré de nombreuses nouvelles compagnies et a permis l'expansion de celles qui étaient déjà présentes. L'aviation européenne basée à Bournemouth continu d'étendre ses activités de location d'appareils et la compagnie Bombardier a récemment obtenu un contrat de 100 millions pour la fourniture d'avions d'exercice pour la Royal Air Force. La croissance économique dans la zone (mesurée par le GDP) a dépassé la moyenne enregistrée par le Royaume-Uni de 3,3 % entre 1993 et 1995 et a continué à progresser de 3,2 % entre 1997 et 2000.

Alors que le Royaume-Uni affichait un taux de croissance de 2,4 % par an, Bournemouth affichait un climat économique meilleur que dans l'Angleterre toute entière.

Affaires et commerce

En 1996, il y avait 6 680 entreprises présentes dans l'arrondissement de Bournemouth, dont 4 020 d'entre elles déclarant des revenus de TVA (seules les entreprises ayant un chiffre d'affaire excédant 52 000 £ par an doivent déclarer leur TVA). Alors que nombre d'entre elles sont de petites ou moyennes entreprises, il y a un certain nombre de grandes entreprises présentes sur le secteur : Abbey Life (services financiers et assurances), Lloyds (services financiers), et la société Portman, toutes ont leurs sièges sociaux situés à Bournemouth. Les autres grands employeurs sont Zurich assurance, la banque Chase Manhattan et les assurances Liverpool Victoria.

Le niveau de l'emploi récent dans les secteurs économiques tend à masquer la forte croissance de l'emploi dans l'arrondissement durant ces dernières années. De loin, la plus forte croissance du PIB en particulier dans les domaines de la finance et des assurances bien que l'administration publique, la santé et l'éducation ont également augmenté de 25,6 % depuis 1991. L'industrie, alors qu'elle représente une faible part de l'économie locale, a vu augmenter ses emplois de 18 % entre 1991 et 1996.

Tourisme

Le tourisme, les excursions, les vacances et les conférences sont vitales à l'économie de la ville. Bournemouth a la plus grande concentration de services d'hébergement, (hors Londres) et attirent près de deux millions de touristes par an, chiffre complété par les 4,5 millions de visiteurs à la journée par an. Plus de 470 millions de £ viennent alimenter chaque année l'économie locale, environ 11 % de toutes les dépenses touristiques directes viennent de Bournemouth dans le Sud de l'Angleterre.

Bournemouth attire également de nombreuses conférences et conventions qui rapportent 64 millions de l'économie de la ville chaque année. La ville est capable d'accueillir des conférences de plus de 10 000 personnes et des expositions sur plus de 5 000 m².

 

Agrandir

Bournemouth panorama - Robert Pitman, 2012 – Sous licence CC BY-ND 2.0 via Flickr

 

Enseignement

L'enseignement de l'anglais comme langue étrangère rapporte plus de 70 millions de £ par an, une situation seulement dépassée par Londres. Plus traditionnellement, l'université de Bournemouth accueille plus de 10 000 étudiants et emploie 900 personnes, contribuant à hauteur d'environ 50 millions par an à l'économie locale. Le collège de formation continue de Poole et Bournemouth accueille environ 20 000 étudiants et 1 000 emplois. L'enseignement est un acteur essentiel de la vie locale et de la vie culturelle, les étudiants formant un bassin de main d'œuvre qualifiée et compétente qui contribue grandement à l'économie locale.

Commerce de détail

Plus de 3 500 personnes sont employées dans le secteur du commerce de détail seulement dans le centre-ville. Bournemouth s'enorgueillit d'être un centre commercial régional avec une zone de chalandise d'environ 750 000 personnes. Le conseil de la ville poursuit l'amélioration du centre-ville avec près de deux millions investis dans la rénovation du centre-ville et l'achèvement récent d'un complexe commercial de 10 000 m².

Communications

Bournemouth est bien desservi par les réseaux de transport (comme son voisin Poole) et plus que le reste du Dorset. Le temps de trajet depuis Bournemouth jusqu'aux autoroutes, vers Portsmouth (le plus éloigné des membres de la South Coast Metropole) est de 51 mn, jusqu'à Southampton (35 mn), Londres (2 h 12 mn), Bristol (1 h 53 mn), Birmingham (3 h 04 mn). Le trajet de Bournemouth à Londres Waterloo prend 1 h 47 mn et des liaisons directes sont disponibles vers l'Écosse, le Nord-Est de l'Angleterre et les Midlands.

L'agglomération de Bournemouth propose également des accès vers Poole pour les traversées vers la France et les îles Anglo-Normandes, vers Southampton et l'Île de Wight et vers Portsmouth pour l'île de Wight et les îles Anglo-Normandes, la France et l'Espagne. Le fret par navires marchands est aussi possible au départ de Poole pour les entreprises travaillant dans l'import-export. L'aéroport international de Bournemouth propose des vols réguliers depuis et vers Dublin, Édimbourg, Glasgow et Amsterdam. L'aéroport a aussi développer les vols charter vers l'Espagne et d'autres destinations en Europe.

Marché du travail

L'ensemble de la population de Bournemouth a augmenté de 2,6 % entre 1987 et 1997, il est prévu que la population totale passera environ à 4 % en 2011. La structure de la population, la proportion de personnes âgées devrait passer de 27 % en 1991 à 23 % en 2011, alors que la part des 45-65 ans devrait atteindre 23,2 %.


Haut