SnapshotsSnapshots
 
The portrait of Portsmouth (1999)
Authors: Mark Bobe, Louis Shurmer-Smith

 

The City of Portsmouth, a unitary authority since April 1st 1997, is located on Portsea Island bounded to the East by Langstone Harbour, to the West by Portsmouth Harbour and to the South by the Solent and the Isle of Wight. Originally settlement was concentrated on the site now occupied by Portchester Castle at the Northern end of Portsmouth Harbour and first enters the historical record as a Roman coastal fortress and port. The first major development on Portsea Island did not occur until 1194 when King Richard 1 (Coeur de Lion) granted a charter for the establishment of a settlement.

 

Enlarge

Old Portsmouth, View from Spinnaker Tower toward Portsmouth Cathedral and Southsea – eNil, 2007 – Licensed under CC BY 2.0 via Commons

 

The sea, and particularly the Royal Navy, has dominated the development of Portsmouth from its foundation in the 12th Century, through the establishment of the Naval Dockyard in 1496 and its expansion during the 17th Century. Whilst the decline of the Royal Navy following the end of the Cold War has reduced the importance of the Navy and Dockyard to Portsmouth, it remains, along with tourism, one of the primary employers in the city.

Economically the city has seen a remarkable growth in employment attributable to the University of Portsmouth, the expansion of the ferry-port, and employment in high technology industries.

The City of Portsmouth has been a unitary authority since April 1997, prior to this date certain key administrative functions of the city were shared with Hampshire County Council. Whilst largely independent for administrative purposes the city remains in the county of Hampshire. Portsmouth has a population of approximately 189 000 (1998) and administers an area of approximately 41.95 square kilometres which means Portsmouth is the most densely populated district in Great Britain (over 4 500 persons per square kilometre) outside of Inner London (1998).

The local economy

Portsmouth has suffered more than many other areas over the last 20 years as the UK has effectively de-industrialised and moved further towards a service based economy. The decline of the defence sector, especially since the end of the Cold War, has seen a large reduction in employment in the armed services, the dockyard and associated defence industries. New employment growth has tended to be concentrated within the relatively low-paid, often part-time tourism and retail sectors.

Employment in Portsmouth is dominated by the service sector which accounts for 79.3 per cent of all employment (Annual Employment Survey 1996). Within the service sector it is public administration, education and health that provides the largest volume of total employment accounting for approximately 31.9 per cent of total employment, this is followed by distribution, hotels and catering (20.5 per cent) and banking, finance and insurance (17.7 per cent). Manufacturing employment remains important to the local economy providing 17.3 per cent of all local employment.

Business and commerce

Major employers in the city are primarily engaged in high technology manufacture or service sector functions, many of which are either still engaged in, or have historically been involved with, defence related production and development. Portsmouth is the UK headquarters for IBM (computers) and Zurich Insurance, it is also home to GEC (electronics and telecommunications), Alenia Marconi Systems (electronics), Vosper Thornycroft (marine construction), Raytheon Marine (marine electronics), Lockheed Martin (aerospace and electronics), De La Rue Systems (cash machines and EFTPOS equipment), British Aerospace (aerospace and electronics) and Panasonic GSM (mobile personal telecommunications).

Rents on commercial premises in Portsmouth are substantially lower than in other locations within the south-east of England. On average city centre office accommodation is 80 per cent cheaper than Southampton (Portsmouth City Council, 1999), factory and warehouse accommodation is however only 5-10 per cent cheaper than Southampton. Both cities tend to be cheaper overall than competing locations such as Brighton, Reading and Guildford.

The focus of economic development in the city is currently the 100 million Gunwharf Quays development on the harbourfront and the 100 million Renaissance of Portsmouth Harbour Project. Gunwharf Quays is a mixed retail (approximately 17 000 square metres), leisure (approximately 17 000 square metres), office (approximately 1 000 square metres) and housing development alongside Portsmouth Harbour on former Ministry of Defence Land. The Renaissance of Portsmouth Harbor involves Portsmouth City Council and Gosport Borough Council in a public and private sector project to renovate and a open up the areas around Portsmouth Harbour. This scheme has various elements, including the construction of a Millennium Tower (renamed Spinnaker Tower) on the Portsmouth side of the harbour. Overall the project is intended to increase visitor numbers to the area to approximately 6 million per annum and to increase tourist spending by an extra 50 million along with 3 500 new jobs.

 

Enlarge

The Spinnaker Tower from the Gosport Ferry – Unisouth, 2007 – Licensed under CC BY 3.0 via Commons

Tourism

Portsmouth also markets itself as a tourist destination The Flagship of Maritime England and is home to HMS Victory, HMS Warrior, The Mary Rose and the Royal Naval Museum all situated in the historic dockyard. The city is also home to the Royal Marines Museum, Southsea Castle (a Henrician Device Fort), the D-Day Museum and Sea Life Centre all of which are located in Southsea, the resort part of Portsmouth.

Education

The largest educational establishment within the City of Portsmouth is the University of Portsmouth (the University is also the fourth largest employer in the region with an annual turnover of 82 million) which has over 17 000 full-time and part-time students supported by approximately 1 000 staff. The University in includes the Portsmouth School of Art, Design and Media and contributes in excess of 60 million per annum into the local economy. Further education provision within the city is provided by Highbury College, the third largest college of its type in the South East of England.

Communications

Portsmouth is unique amongst members of the South Coast Metropole in having a variety of sea-based transport links together with good road and rail links to the rest of the country. There are regular ferry services to the Isle of Wight for both passengers and vehicles, passenger services to Hayling Island and Gosport, services to Jersey and Guernsey and international services to France (Le Havre, Caen, Cherbourg, St Malo) and Spain (Bilbao, Santander). The volume of traffic, both for passengers and freight makes Portsmouth the second busiest port in the country.

Road connections from Portsmouth to the rest of the UK are excellent as the city has easy access to the main south coast trunk road, the A27 (running in various guises from Kent in the East to Devon in the West), the A3 to London via Guildford and the M3 (Basingstoke, the M25 and London) and A34 (Newbury, the M4, Oxford and the Midlands) accessed via the M27 Portsmouth to Southampton. Travel times (depending on road conditions) are relatively swift with London being accessible in one hour 25 minutes, Birmingham in two hours 50 minutes and Bristol in one hour 55 minutes. Access to the Channel Tunnel is possible in between two and three hours.

Rail links between Portsmouth and the rest of the UK are favourable, London is accessible in one hour 20 minutes, Southampton in 35 minutes and Birmingham in four hours 30 minutes. Most rail connections for the North of England are via London although over recent years new direct services to the North West of England (Manchester and Liverpool) have been established.

Whilst Portsmouth no longer has an airport of its own it maintains excellent communications with major airports in the south of England such as Heathrow, Gatwick and Southampton. All three airports are readily accessible by public transport either by road, rail or a combination of the two. Heathrow and Gatwick airports can be accessed by car in approximately one hour 20 minutes, Southampton in 25 minutes.

 

EnlargeView of Portsmouth and Portsea Island from Portsdown Hill – Alan Ford, 2005

top

PortraitsPortraits
 
Le portrait de Portsmouth (1999)
Auteurs : Mark Bobe, Louis Shurmer-Smith
Traduction : Frédérique Turbout

 

La ville de Portsmouth est une unitary authority depuis le 1er avril 1997. Elle se situe sur l'île de Portsea, délimitée à l'est par le port de Langstone, à l'ouest par le port de Portsmouth et au sud par le Solent et l'île de Wight. À l'origine, le peuplement était concentré sur le site occupé aujourd'hui par le château de Portschester à l'extrême nord du port de Portsmouth, dont la première mention historique le décrit comme une forteresse romaine avec un port. Le premier développement majeur de l'île de Portsea ne se produira pas avant 1194 lorsque Richard 1er Cœur de Lion octroie une charte autorisant  l'implantation d'une colonie de peuplement.

 

Agrandir

Vieux Portsmouth avec la cathédrale anglicane – eNil, 2007 – Sous licence CC BY 2.0 via Commons

 

La mer et particulièrement la Royal Navy ont dominé de leur influence le développement de Portsmouth depuis sa fondation au XIIe siècle en passant par l'implantation de l'arsenal en 1496 et son expansion durant le XVIIe siècle. Alors que le déclin de la Royal Navy après la fin de la guerre froide a réduit l'importance de la marine et des chantiers navals, il reste, avec le tourisme, un des principaux employeurs dans la ville.

Économiquement, la ville a connu une croissance remarquable en matière d'emploi attribuable à l'Université de Portsmouth, à l'expansion du port de ferry et aux emplois dans les industries de haute technologie.

Avant que Portsmouth ne devienne une unitary authority en 1997, certaines fonctions administratives de la ville étaient partagées avec le County Council du Hampshire. Bien qu'indépendante administrativement, la ville reste dans le comté du Hampshire. Portsmouth a une population d'environ 189 000 habitants (1998) et administre un espace d'environ 41,95 km², Portsmouth est ainsi le district le plus densément peuplé de Grande-Bretagne (plus de 4 500 hab/km2) exception faite de l'Inner London

Économie locale

Portsmouth a souffert plus que toutes autres zones depuis ces 20 dernières années du passage d'une économie industrielle à une économie de services. Le déclin du secteur de la défense, plus particulièrement depuis la fin de la guerre froide, a vu la réduction du nombre d'emplois dans les services armés, l'arsenal et les industries de la défense qui y sont associés. Les nouveaux emplois sont souvent du temps-partiel dans l'industrie du tourisme ou dans le commerce de détail.

L'emploi à Portsmouth est dominé par le secteur des services avec près de 79,3 % du total des emplois. Parmi ces emplois de services, l'administration publique, l'éducation et les services de la santé génèrent la plus grande part des emplois avec 31,9 % de l'emploi total. Ils sont suivis par ceux de la distribution, de l'hôtellerie-restauration, de la banque, de la finance et des assurances (17,7 %). L'emploi manufacturier reste un secteur important de l'économie locale avec un total de 17,3 % des emplois occupés. 

Affaires et commerce

La majeure partie des emplois dans la ville sont orientés vers la haute technologie ou les fonctions de services, dont beaucoup d'entre elles restent en relation, ou ont historiquement été en relation avec les activités de la défense. Portsmouth est au Royaume-Uni le siège social de sociétés telles que IBM (informatique) et Zurich Assurance. C'est également le siège de EGC (électronique et télécommunications), Alenia Marconi Systems (électronique), Vosper Thornycroft (construction marine), Raythean Marine (électronique marin), Lockheed Martin (électronique et aérospatial), De La Rue Systems (Distributeurs de billets et équipements), Bristish Aerospace (aérospatial et électronique) et Panasonic GSM (mobiles et télécommunication).

Les locations de locaux commerciaux sont substantiellement moins chers à Portsmouth que dans le reste du sud-est anglais. En moyenne, la location de bureaux en centre-ville est 80 % moins chère qu'à Southampton (Portsmouth, 1999), cependant l'hébergement en entrepôt ou en usine n’est seulement que de 5 à 10 % moins cher qu'à Southampton.

Le développement économique de la ville est actuellement orienté vers le développement du port et de son front de mer (Gunwharf Quays) et le projet de renaissance du port de Portsmouth, projet dont le coût s'élève à 100 millions de £. Gunwharf Quays est un projet associant sur 17 000 km², des loisirs, des bureaux et des logements sur cet espace anciennement réservé à la défense. Le projet de renaissance du port de Portsmouth associe acteurs publics, le conseil de la ville et le conseil de Gosport Borough, et acteurs privés pour la rénovation des espaces dédiés à ce projet. Ce dernier prévoit la construction d'une tour, la Millenium Tower (renommée Spinnaker Tower), à l'entrée du port de Portsmouth. Plus généralement, le projet prévoit également une croissance du nombre de visiteurs,  environ 6 millions par an sont espérés pour des dépenses touristiques de l'ordre de 50 millions et la création de quelques 3 500 emplois.

 

Agrandir

La Spinnaker Tower – Unisouth, 2007 – Sous licence CC BY 3.0 via Commons

Tourisme

Portsmouth est également connue en tant que destination touristique. Le HMS Victory, le HMS Warrior, le Mary Rose et le Royal Naval Museum sont tous situés dans le chantier naval historique. La ville abrite aussi les musées maritimes royaux, le château de Southsea (un château fort datant du Roi Henri), le musée du débarquement et le Sea Life Centre, tous situés à Southsea, la station touristique de Portsmouth. 

Éducation

Le plus grand établissement d'enseignement est l'université qui est aussi le quatrième employeur de la région, avec un chiffre d'affaire annuel de 82 millions et qui accueille plus de 17 000 étudiants à temps plein et à temps partiel, pour environ 1 000 employés. L'université qui comprend l'école des Arts, de Design et des médias contribue pour plus de 60 millions par an à l'économie locale. La formation continue est assurée par le Highburry College, le troisième plus grand établissement de ce type dans le sud-est anglais. 

Communications

Portsmouth est le seul membre de South Coast Metropole a proposer une variété de transports maritimes interconnectés avec la route et le rail au reste du pays. Il y a des liaisons ferry passagers et fret régulières pour l'île de Wight, les îles de Hayling et Gosport, des liaisons vers Jersey et Guernesey et des liaisons ferry internationales vers la France (Le Havre, Caen, Cherbourg, Saint-Malo) et vers l'Espagne (Bilbao et Santander). Le volume des trafics de passagers et de fret font de Portsmouth le second port du pays.

Les connections routières de Portsmouth vers le reste de l'Angleterre sont excellentes, la ville est facilement accessible depuis l'autoroute du sud A27 (allant du Kent au Devon), l'A3 vers Londres via Guildford, la M3 (vers Basingstoke, la M25 et Londres) et l'A34 (vers Newbury, la M4, Oxford et les Midlands), et enfin la M27 reliant Portsmouth à Southampton. Les temps de trajet (dépendant des conditions de circulation) sont relativement rapides, Londres est accessible en 1 h 25, Birmingham en 2 h 50 et Bristol en 1 h 55. L'accès au Tunnel sous la Manche est possible en environ deux à trois heures.

Les liaisons ferroviaires entre Portsmouth et le reste de l'Angleterre sont bonnes, Londres est accessible en 1 h 20, Southampton en 35 mn et Birmingham en 4 h 30. La plupart des connections ferroviaires vers le Nord de l'Angleterre se font via Londres et des liaisons directes ont été mises en place depuis ces dernières années vers le nord-ouest de l'Angleterre (Manchester et Liverpool). Alors que Portsmouth n'a plus d'aéroport, la ville maintient d'excellentes communications avec les grands aéroports du sud anglais tels que Heathrow, Gatwick et Southampton. Ces trois aéroports sont rapidement accessibles par les transports publics par route, rail ou la combinaison des deux. Heathrow et Gatwick sont accessibles par bus en approximativement 1 h 20 mn, Southampton en 25 mn.

 

Agrandir

Portsmouth et Portsea Island vue de Portsdown Hill – Alan Ford, 2005.

Haut